To Twist or Not to Twist pt. 2

wpid-PhotoGrid_1390838732344.jpgSo to catch up since the last post, I decided to add Marley Twists to my hair in a completely ill-prepared, unplanned, not-thought-out kind of a way. Also known as last minute. Eh. So how did it go you ask? Quite well if I do say so myself.

I actually started the twists around 3:20 pm. By the time I had completed the first 6, I had also learned my first lesson. The invisible method demonstrated by Breanna Rutter here and Donedo here is way WAY more difficult to keep in than it seems. They promptly slipped out. Second lesson learned, patience grasshopper. So I managed to switch techniques and install 2 1/2 packs of hair with out significant problems. I took lots of breaks to nurse, eat, walk around, watch movies, really I took breaks because twisting this much hair is just boring. at 10:59 pm I was dipping the rolled ends into hot water to curl them. That was that. By Tuesday another twist slipped out. But I just put it right back in. End of story.

Yes, I like them. The first two days, I wore them up in a top know. I quickly realized that single digit weather and no hat is disastrous so today, they are in a low ponytail as to accommodate a hat.

Are they heavy? Yes. I have added a significant amount of new materiel to the top of my head so yep, it is heavy. For me that is kinda like asking did getting earring hurt. Yes they did, sharp metal pushed through one’s anatomy tend to bring pain. However, It is not unreasonable. I don’t find that i must try to balance my head to keep it from lolling to one side.

How much did this endeavor cost? The hair cost a whooping $7 a bag. I only  used 2.5 bags.  So for me, self-installing is totally worth the savings.

How long will I leave them in? No more than 4 weeks as I run the risk of starting locs at that time and that isn’t the path I am walking.

So here is the skinny:

Type of hair used:wpid-20140202_173658.jpgSensationnel Synthetic hair Braids Braid Now Reggae Braid (MARLEY BRAID) (1B)

Type of roller used:

How I installed them:

  1. I separated a row and clipped all other hair out of the way.
  2. I separated a section to be twisted and slipped the rest of the row out of the way.
  3. Added moisturizer to the section and then covered that with coconut oil.
  4. Followed by a castor oil mix to seal it all being sure to cover the ends well.
  5. Next, was a bit of EcoStyler Olive Oil Gel ( I don’t know that you really need this one but I used it).
  6. I then took a pre-separated section of Marley hair and fluffed it. By fluffing, I mean I gently pulled it apart from one end to the other. Not completely apart, just enough to make it fluffier.
  7. I found the center of said hair
  8. wrap it around my hair section (creating three pieces)
  9. and began to braid. I stopped after my hair ended up in the center braiding section twice.
  10. While my hair was in the center, I split it in two, combined each split section with the Marley sections and began to twist.
  11. Once my entire head was completed, I used cold wave rollers on the ends and dipped them into boiling hot water. Please remove water from the hot stove prior to dipping. It is best to put the water in a bowl on a solid, flat surface.
  12. Let dry and style!
Leave a Reply

